

Central Montcalm Public School Board of Education Minutes of April 24, 2025 Superintendent Interviews

The Special meeting of the Central Montcalm Public School Board of Education for the purpose of Superintendent Interviews was called to order by President Bill Simpson in the Central Montcalm Middle School Cafeteria on Thursday, April 24, 2025 at 4:45 p.m.

Present: Bill Simpson, Jamie Hansen-Hopkins, Brennan Bowen, Betty Wakefield, Rob Train, Lisa Lund, Jim Lingeman

Absent: None

President Simpson opened the floor to public comment on agenda items:

• Julie Ward, alumni and parent, shared concerns she hoped the Board would keep in mind while interviewing candidates.

Interview Format:

- Welcome the candidate and introduce trustees.
- Describe the Interview format.
- Trustees ask prepared interview questions covering the topics of Leadership & Vision, Curriculum & Instruction, and Community Engagement.
- Opportunity for the candidate to ask questions.
- Closing statement from the candidate.

Interview Order:

- 5:00 p.m. Interview with Candidate Amanda McLaughlin
- 6:00 p.m. Interview with Candidate John Mimranek
- 7:00 p.m. Interview with Candidate Troy Reehl

A short break was taken after each interview.

Motion by Simpson, supported by Wakefield, to hire Amanda McLaughlin as the next Superintendent for Central Montcalm Public School. After discussion, a roll call vote was held. Aye: Bowen, Hansen-Hopkins, Lund, Simpson, Wakefield; Nay: Lingeman, Train. Those in favor 5, opposed 2. Motion carried.

Motion by Hansen-Hopkins, supported by Wakefield, to authorize the Finance Committee to enter into salary and benefit negotiations with Amanda McLaughlin as the next Superintendent of Central Montcalm Public School. By roll call vote, Aye: Bowen, Hansen-Hopkins, Lingeman, Lund, Simpson, Train, Wakefield; Nay: None. Those in favor 7, opposed 0. Motion carried.

Motion by Bowen, supported by Lund, to adjourn the regular meeting at 8:29 p.m. Those in favor 7, opposed 0. Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted, Jamie Hansen-Hopkins Board Secretary